The National Health Council is governed by a volunteer board of directors made up of representatives from our various membership categories. Board members set the strategic direction and establish policy to guide the NHC in meeting its mission to provide a united voice for people with chronic diseases and disabilities and their family caregivers.


Diana Gray, MA


Hydrocephalus Association

LaVarne A. Burton


American Kidney Fund

Stevan W. Gibson

Vice Chairperson

Lupus Foundation of America

Matt Eyles


America’s Health Insurance Plans

Lisa Simpson, MB, BCh, MPH, FAAP



Ann Palmer

Immediate Past Chairperson

Arthritis Foundation

board Members

Nancy Brown

American Heart Association

Patricia Furlong

Parent Project Muscular Dystrophy

Cassandra McCullough, MBA

Association of Black Cardiologists

Michelle McMurry-Heath, MD

Biotechnology Innovation Organization (BIO)

Kenneth Mendez

Asthma & Allergy Foundation of America

Michael Osso

Crohn's & Colitis Foundation

Amit Paley

The Trevor Project

Gary A. Puckrein, PhD

National Minority Quality Forum

Susan Sherman, MHA

The LAM Foundation

Stephen J. Ubl

Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America

Harold Wimmer

American Lung Association

NHC Committee Members

  • Chairperson Diana Gray, Hydrocephalus Association 
  • LaVarne A. Burton, American Kidney Fund
  • Matt Eyles, M.S., America’s Health Insurance Plans
  • Stevan Gibson, Lupus Foundation of America
  • Ann Palmer, Arthritis Foundation
  • Lisa Simpson, MB, BCh, MPH, FAAP, AcademyHealth
  • Chairperson Cassandra McCullough, MBA, Association of Black Cardiologists 
  • Tracey Brown, MBA, BChE, American Diabetes Association
  • Tanisha Carino, Alexion
  • Diana Gray, Hydrocephalus Association
  • Steve Miller, MD, MBA, Cigna
  • Miriam O’Day, Alpha-1 Foundation
  • Cyndi Zagieboylo, National MS Society
  • Chairperson Lisa Simpson, MB, BCh, MPH, FAAP, AcademyHealth
  • Calaneet Balas, The ALS Association
  • Kenny Mendez, Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America
  • Sue Sherman, MHA, The LAM Foundation
  • Amanda Talty, Tourette Association of America
  • Chairperson Paul Gionfriddo, Mental Health America (committee chair)
  • Julie Block, National Eczema Association
  • Susan Cantrell, Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy
  • Matt Eyles, M.S., America’s Health Insurance Plans
  • Pat Furlong, Parent Project Muscular Dystrophy
  • Bob Gebbia, American Foundation for Suicide Prevention
  • Michelle Oshman, BIO
  • Gary Puckrein, PhD, National Minority Quality Forum
  • Amy Comstock Rick, JD, Food and Drug Law Institute
  • Chairperson Ann Palmer, Arthritis Foundation 
  • Alan Balch, PhD, National Patient Advocate Foundation
  • Randy Beranek, National Psoriasis Foundation
  • LaVarne A. Burton, American Kidney Fund
  • Anne Marie Kondic, Community Pharmacy Foundation
  • Sue Sherman, MHA, The LAM Foundation
  • Steven Taylor, MBA, Sjörgen’s Foundation
  • Gretchen Wartman, National Minority Quality Forum
  • Chairperson Stevan (Steve) Gibson, Lupus Foundation
  • Tanisha Carino, Alexion
  • Gary Reedy, American Cancer Society
  • Steve Echard, American College of Rheumatology
  • LaVarne Burton, American Kidney Fund
  • Harold Wimmer, American Lung Association
  • Matt Eyles, America’s Health Insurance Plans
  • Mary Richards, Amputee Coalition
  • Michelle McMurry-Heath, BIO
  • Steve Miller, Cigna
  • Laura Thrall, Epilepsy Foundation
  • Julia Jenkins, EveryLife Foundation
  • Paul Gionfriddo, Mental Helath America
  • Gary Puckrein, National Minority Quality Forum
  • Stephen Ubl, PhRMA
  • Jeff Todd, Prevent Blindness

Former Chairs of the board

Ann Palmer
Arthritis Foundation
Steven Taylor, MBA
Sjögren’s Foundation
Robert Gebbia
American Foundation for Suicide Prevention
Cyndi Zagieboylo
National Multiple Sclerosis Society
Tracy Smith Hart
Osteogenesis Imperfecta Foundation
Randy Beranek
National Psoriasis Foundation
Nancy Brown
American Heart Association
LaVarne A. Burton
American Kidney Fund
Larry Hausner
American Diabetes Association
John H. Klippel, MD
Arthritis Foundation
Steven Taylor, MBA
Sjögren’s Syndrome Foundation
Cindy Brownstein
Spina Bifida Association
Margaret C. Kirk
Breast Cancer Network of Strength
James E. Williams, Jr.
Easter Seals
John Walsh
Alpha-1 Foundation

Eric R. Hargis
Epilepsy Foundation