Recap of the NHC’s Annual Membership Meeting and Luncheon & New Board Announced

By: Bhriana Onuoha, Senior Coordinator, Communications 

On Dec. 12, 2023, the National Health Council (NHC) hosted its 103rd Annual Membership Meeting and Luncheon. On a sunny December day, 140 people gathered at the Willard InterContinental in Washington, D.C., for an afternoon of networking, comradeship, and a great meal. 

The event’s keynote speaker — John Nosta — captivated the audience with a conversation on AI and the Beginning of the Cognitive Age. Using the analogy of a Global Processing System (GPS), Nosta highlighted that Large Language Models (LLMs), like GPS, offer accuracy, speed, and enjoyment. He ended his talk on the power of AI and LLMs in decision-making and how AI can benefit the patient experience.  

During the meeting, new and reelected members of 2024 National Health Council Board of Directors as well as the 2024 Executive Committee were announced. Executive Committee members are: 

  • Jeff Todd – Board Chair 
    President & CEO, Prevent Blindness 

  • Schroeder Stribling – Chair Elect 
    President & CEO, Mental Health America 

  • Michael Osso – Vice Chair 
    President & CEO, Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation

  • Sue Peschin – Secretary 
    President & CEO, Alliance for Aging Research 

  • Harold Wimmer – Treasurer 
    National President & CEO, American Lung Association 

  • Kenny Mendez – Immediate Past Chair 
    President & CEO, Asthma & Allergy Foundation of America

New members of the 2024 NHC Board of Directors are: 

  • Charles Henderson, CEO, American Diabetes Association 
  • Louise Vetter, President & CEO, Huntington’s Disease Society of America 
  • Jorey Berry, President & CEO, Immune Deficiency Foundation 
  • Kathryn G. Schubert, President & CEO, Society for Women’s Health Research 
  • Michael Ybarra, MD, Chief Medical Officer, PhRMA 
  • Sunita Mishra, MD, Chief Medical Officer, Amazin Health Services 
  • Michele M. Oshman, Vice President, External Affairs, Biotechnology Innovation Organization (BIO) 

Thank you to our members for another amazing year. We will see you in 2024!