Update: NHC to Host Introduction to Real-World Evidence & Read-World Data Trainings

04/06/2020

By Silke Schoch, Manager, Research & Programs

Background

In 2017, the National Health Council (NHC) held a meeting, Patient Perspectives on Real-World Evidence: A Roundtable to Gather Views, Needs, and Recommendations, to elicit patient-community views on:

  • Real-world evidence (RWE) and real-world data (RWD) definitions and uses;
  • Characteristics to promote understanding/trust; and
  • Skillsets and tools needed to promote patient engagement in research, use, and dissemination.

Outputs of the meeting included a white paper and corresponding peer-reviewed publication. An extensive list of patient-group reported needs and the tools required to ensure patients can engage in RWE-related research, be a source of sound RWE, and support best RWE dissemination to and use by constituents was included.

Current Work

In 2019, the National Health Council, in partnership with the Duke-Margolis Center for Health Policy, launched a new project to develop and deliver a training program and relevant tools to be used, adapted, and updated to expand patient-community capacity to engage in real-world evidence research, especially comparative effectiveness research. Over the coming year and a half, we will be hosting trainings for patient advocacy groups, as well as developing online modules and other resources.

Upcoming Trainings for Patient Advocates

The NHC will be hosting three online training opportunities for patient advocates on an Introduction to Real-World Evidence & Real-World Data. Participants will be invited to discuss skillsets or tools they believe are needed for further real-world evidence training based on their experiences with their organizations.

Training Dates:

  • Wednesday, April 15, 4:00 – 5:00 p.m. ET/1:00 – 2:00 p.m. PT
  • Friday, April 17, 2:00 – 3:00 p.m. ET/11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. PT
  • Friday, April 17, 3:30 – 4:30 p.m. ET/12:30 -1:30 p.m. PT

Register here.

Real-World Evidence Needs Assessment Survey

The NHC will also be distributing a public survey to gauge the best way to disseminate information and trainings on real-world evidence and real-world data to patient advocates. If you would like to participate in this survey please email [email protected] to sign up for our RWE mailing list or click here to access the survey. The survey will close on April 24 at 5 p.m. ET. For more information on real-world evidence, visit our website.