Ann Palmer to Lead 2020 National Health Council Board of Directors


The NHC to Celebrate Its 100th Anniversary throughout Year

Washington, DC — Dec. 10, 2019 — At its annual membership meeting today, which kicked off a year-long celebration of its 100th Anniversary, the National Health Council (NHC) elected its officers and new members of the Board of Directors for 2020. Ann Palmer, President & Chief Executive Officer, Arthritis Foundation, will be the Chairperson of the NHC Board of Directors for 2020. Other members of the 2020 Executive Committee will be: Chairperson-Elect Gary Reedy, Chief Executive Officer, American Cancer Society; Vice Chairperson Diana Gray, Chief Executive Officer, Hydrocephalus Association; Secretary Matt Eyles, President & Chief Executive Officer, America’s Health Insurance Plans; Treasurer Lisa Simpson, President & Chief Executive Officer, AcademyHealth; and Immediate Past Chairperson Steven Taylor, Chief Executive Officer of the Sjögren’s Syndrome Foundation.

“Ann is a top leader in the patient advocacy community and has been an integral advisor on the NHC Board, driving a revitalization of our brand in time for our 100th anniversary,” said Marc Boutin, JD, Chief Executive Officer of the National Health Council. “Her enthusiastic leadership, in addition to the range of organizations represented by our new and returning Board members, will enable NHC to thrive as we embark on our second century of putting patients first.”

New members joining the NHC Board of Directors are: Paul Gionfriddo, CEO, Mental Health America; and Gary Puckrein, President and CEO, National Minority Quality Forum; and Rod Mackenzie, Executive Vice President & Chief Development Officer, Pfizer. Board members re-elected for 2020 include: Patricia Furlong, Founding President and CEO, Parent Project Muscular Dystrophy; Tanisha Carino, Chief Corporate Affairs Officer, Alexion and Chip Davis, President & Chief Executive Officer, Association for Accessible Medicines.

These new and re-elected members join current Board members: Nancy Brown, Chief Executive Officer, American Heart Association; Tracey Brown, Chief Executive Officer, American Diabetes Association; LaVarne Burton, President & Chief Executive Officer, American Kidney Fund; Stevan Gibson, President & Chief Executive Officer, Lupus Foundation of America; Dory Kranz, Chief Executive Officer, National Alopecia Areata Foundation; Cassandra McCullough, Chief Executive Officer, Association of Black Cardiologists Steve Miller, MD, Chief Medical Officer, Cigna; Susan Sherman, Chief Executive Officer, The LAM Foundation; and Stephen Ubl, President & Chief Executive Officer, PhRMA.

In addition, the NHC would like to thank the following Board Members, who are leaving the Board, for their service: Robert Gebbia, Chief Executive Officer, American Foundation for Suicide Prevention; Elizabeth Fowler, former Vice President, Global Health Policy at Johnson & Johnson; and Richard Popps, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Alkermes.

Read More