Steven Taylor to Lead 2019 National Health Council Board of Directors


Washington, DC — Dec. 11, 2018 — At its annual membership meeting today, the National Health Council (NHC) elected its officers and new members of the Board of Directors for 2019. Steven Taylor, Chief Executive Officer of the Sjögren’s Syndrome Foundation will be the Chairperson of the NHC Board of Directors for 2019. Other members of the 2019 Executive Committee will be: Chairperson-Elect Ann Palmer, President & Chief Executive Officer, Arthritis Foundation; Vice Chairperson, Gary Reedy, Chief Executive Officer, American Cancer Society; Secretary Matt Eyles, President & Chief Executive Officer, America’s Health Insurance Plans; Treasurer Cassandra McCullough, Chief Executive Officer, Association of Black Cardiologists; and Immediate Past Chairperson Robert Gebbia, Chief Executive Officer, American Foundation for Suicide Prevention.
“Steve is a passionate leader in the patient advocacy community and shaped the development of our 2019-2021 Strategic Plan,” said Marc Boutin, JD, Chief Executive Officer of the National Health Council. “His vision in addition to the excellent slate of new and returning Board members will enable NHC to promote access to affordable, sustainable, high-value care.”
New members joining the NHC Board of Directors are: Nancy Brown, Chief Executive Officer, American Heart Association and Stevan Gibson, President & Chief Executive Officer, Lupus Foundation of America. Board members re-elected for a second term include: Eyles; McCullough; Harold “Hal” Paz, Executive Vice President and Chief Medical Officer, Aetna; Reedy; and Sue Sherman, Executive Director, The LAM Foundation.
These new members join current Board members: Tracey Brown, Chief Executive Officer, American Diabetes Association; LaVarne Burton, President & Chief Executive Officer, American Kidney Fund; Chip Davis, President & Chief Executive Officer, Association for Accessible Medicines; Elizabeth Fowler, Vice President, Global Health Policy, Johnson & Johnson; Patricia Furlong, Founding President and CEO, Parent Project Muscular Dystrophy; Diana Gray, Chief Executive Officer, Hydrocephalus Association; Dory Kranz, Chief Executive Officer, National Alopecia Areata Foundation; Richard Pops, Chief Executive Officer, Alkermes; Lisa Simpson, President & Chief Executive Officer, AcademyHealth; and Stephen Ubl, President & Chief Executive Officer, PhRMA.
About National Health Council
Founded in 1920, the NHC is the only organization that brings together all segments of the health community to provide a united voice for the more than 160 million people with chronic diseases and disabilities and their family caregivers. Made up of more than 125 national health-related organizations and businesses, the NHC’s core membership includes the nation’s leading patient advocacy organizations, which control its governance and policy-making process. Other members include professional and membership associations, nonprofit organizations with an interest in health, and representatives from the pharmaceutical, generic drug, health insurance, device, and biotechnology industries. Learn more at: